Happy Birthday Rumi


Last Sunday was Rumi’s 800th birthday.

Here are a few of his words:

Either this deep desire of mine
will be found on this journey
or when I get back home!

It may be that the satisfaction I need
depends on my going away, so that when I’ve gone
and come back, I’ll find it at home.

I will search for the Friend with all my passion
and all my energy, until I learn
that I don’t need to search.

“If I had known the real way it was,
I would have stopped all the looking around.”

But that knowing depends
on the time spent looking!

You fear losing a certain eminent position.
You hope to gain something from that, but it comes
from elsewhere. Existence does this switching trick,
giving you hope from one source, then satisfaction from another.

It keeps you bewildered
and wondering, and lets your trust in the unseen grow.

I don’t know whether the union I want will come
through my effort, or my giving up effort,
or from something completely separate
from anything I do or don’t do.

Leave a Reply

