For Carlita Scothorn, a good friend, who passed away last night.

What Came to Me

I took the last
dusty piece of china
out of the barrel.
It was your gravy boat,
with a hard, brown
drop of gravy still
on the porcelain lip.
I grieved for you then
as I never had before.

– Jane Kenyon

One thought on “

  1. Thanks to you and Larissa, now when people Google Carlita Scothorn we find substance, her joyful face displayed in your photos. I am in such shock to learn of her death. I cooked and cleaned for Carlita as she was bedridden during her pregnancy with Micah – along with many others. We hadn’t seen each other since Messiah Chapel. I loved to hear Carlita sing – beautiful harmony! Lovely voice. I am so sorry for your loss. What a hole must be left that Carlita filled with joy and silliness and love. God Bless you and Larissa. Love in Messiah – juli billington

    Like

Leave a Reply

