The Quiet Room

The Quiet Room is a heartbreaking film about a young girl who has stopped talking as a response to her parents’ deteriorating marriage. The 5 or 6-year-old girl narrates her thoughts and impressions throughout the film. Her words are poetic, insightful, and devastatingly honest. Sometimes, the writer of these words reaches a bit too far, and the spell of the film is broken. But most of the time, the film flows like a river, one beautiful scene after another. Sometimes the beauty is joyful and colorful, and sometimes it is fierce and passionate. Almost like a Bergman film from the vantage point of a child.


Here are some lines that I wrote down while watching:

I make my own peace. You can’t leave me in it.

Please understand, mom. Mom….Don’t just say things.

You get me confused when you are too nice to me. I want things to be like you say, but I forget the real reasons.

You aren’t even trying to understand.

I’m not really good… Can’t help feelings. They just happen.

I like it when you are real to me mom.

Do you think you can really just trick me into talking? It won’t work. You are trying to make me feel like before.

I wish I could talk to me when I was then…. Hello? I don’t notice me.

Buy some talking medicine. You need some stop-talking medicine.

Play with me. And you and mom stop cutting each other up.

Hmm. Dad being funny. I love weekends. I wish there were more weekends.

Mary had a little lamb she tied it to the loo. And everywhere that mary went the lamby did a poo. I’m the lamb.

I wonder why adults don’t have any imagination.

I wonder if it is true. Adults are so good liars I don’t know what’s true anymore. I feel like crying now when I look at me then.


Leave a Reply

